PbP Newbie Looking for a Group

I can promise terror, glory, and riches...or a quick and brutal death.
princehomeless
Squire
Squire

PbP Newbie Looking for a Group

#1 Post by princehomeless »

Hello, I'm new to PbP (but not to roleplaying games in general). I'm looking for a game to join so I can get familiar with the format and the site. I'm open to a lot of different systems, including (but not limited to) SWN, WWN, BW, DnD 5E, and Genesys. I love writing backstory (especially diegetic backstory), and I get more out of roleplaying than combat. (and I get more out of combats that include roleplaying!) I have a number of existing DnD and SWN characters I'd love to play, but I also love character creation, so I'd be happy to make a new character at whatever level is appropriate. I'm pretty flexible in terms of posting frequency, but just to be safe, I'll say a tentative range of 1-5 times a week.

Pulpatoon
Rider of Rohan
Rider of Rohan

Re: PbP Newbie Looking for a Group

#2 Post by Pulpatoon »

Welcome to Unseen Servant! I hope you find it to your liking!

PbP is a different beast in a lot of ways from playing around a table, and kinda scratches a different itch. I find battlefield tactics are hard to maintain, and of course the actory-improv-social aspect is missing. But it's great for people who like to write. You can really hone your character's voice when you can edit and re-edit before hitting Publish on a response.

The pace of PbP is infamously slow, and requires some getting used to. This is especially hard at the beginning of a campaign when you're hyped and in love with your new character, and just can't wait to tear into the world! It helps a lot to find a well-run game that updates at regular intervals, so you know how to pace yourself.