GreyWolfVT wrote:I can roll them whatever makes it easier for you Dave. Also I'm a bit mixed up so directing the summoned creature can Delgrot still make an attack or action or is he stuck focusing on the creature and giving it direction? (Been a while on my part in summoning a creature as a priest.)
I, honestly, don't know?
What I do know is, spell casting in 2e is a LOT more restrictive/intensive than it is in 5e. I mean, they can't even be moving when they're casting or risk having it interrupted (which causes the magic-user to lose it).
But what about after the spell has been cast, but is still active?
The 'Duration' definition doesn't cove it:
Duration wrote:Duration: This lists how long the magical energy of the spell lasts. Spells of instantaneous duration come and go the moment they are cast, although the results of these spells may be permanent and unchangeable by normal means. Spells of permanent duration last until the effects are negated by some means, usually by a dispel magic. Some spells have a variable duration. The caster cannot choose the duration of spells, in most cases. Spells with set durations (for example, 3 rounds per level of the wizard) must be kept track of by the player. Spells of variable duration (for example, 3+1d4 rounds) are secretly recorded by the DM. Your DM may warn you when spell durations are approaching expiration, but there is usually no sign that a spell is going to expire; check with your DM to determine exactly how he handles this issue.
Certain spells can be ended at will by the caster. In order to dismiss these spells, the original caster must be within range of the spell's center of effect--within the same range at which the spell can be cast. The caster also must be able to speak words of dismissal. Note that only the original caster can dismiss his spells in this way.
Given how strict spell casting is in 2e, and how the spell description says that the dust devil "moves as directed by the priest," I'm just going to rule that it will require your concentration to maintain. I will let you move, if you want to reposition yourself, but not make any other attacks until the spell dissipates or your dispel it.